Jim Newell


That Hit The Spot
October 2, 2008, 5:04 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

For someone who writes bitter, snide “jokes” (although more recently, “angry rants”) about people who admittedly deserve it, and deserve it more by the day, what a lovely, honest long comment about Alaska this was to find among the common foolishness, hundreds of comments down the line and spotted just when I needed it most:

“I could never accurately describe the magnificence of the surrounding area. It’s something you really have to see to understand. Even though I don’t think I could ever move back there given the lack of job opportunities in my field, I still miss it terribly at times. I don’t believe I’ll ever rid myself completely of the heartbreak of being so far away from an area I love so deeply, to which I have no viable options for return. I have never found anything that compares to the feeling of standing alone in a field of snow, away from any hint of civilization, and staring at the stars as the northern lights drift by in waves overhead. Honestly, even thinking about it makes me want to cry, it’s just too beautiful.”

My instincts, of course, have been recalibrated to twitch and sneer at that last sentence. Not tonight. The days have been crushing.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

